Opened in 1930 the London International Cruise Terminal played a pivotal role in the history of migration both to and from Britain.
Most famously the SS Empire Windrush docked in Tilbury in 1948 with the first generation of Commonwealth workers from the Caribbean. This migration continued until the early 1970s. At the same time - but perhaps less well known, Tilbury was also the embarkation point for people leaving to make new lives in the former colonies of the British Empire. Amongst the last to use the Port were the Slemming family who emigrated to Canada in 1971 on board the Polish freight ship, the Stefan Batory. The family are cousins of TALE's Ian Grutchfield.
TALE will be holding a Transport & Logistics Event at the TRAAC Tilbury Riverside Arts Activity Centre [pictured above] on 26 March 2019, and, on a recce to view the facilities we were able to see the newly restored ticket hall that forms part of the neighbouring Cruise Terminal [pictured right].
The building was part of Tilbury Riverside railway station, originally with train tracks terminating close to the dock side - and freight lines still run to Maritime Railport opposite the building. The ticket hall has recently been restored with the assistance of the Port of Tilbury.
To learn more about the restoration and history of the port explore the work of The Tilbury on the Thames Trust: